Text: H.Res.272 — 113th Congress (2013-2014)

There is one version of the bill.

Bill text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (06/20/2013)

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this legislative text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF or HTML/XML.

[Congressional Bills 113th Congress]
[From the U.S. Government Printing Office]
[H. Res. 272 Introduced in House (IH)]

  1st Session
H. RES. 272

  Honoring the Drug Enforcement Administration on the occasion of its 
                           40th anniversary.



                             June 20, 2013

 Mr. Hunter (for himself, Ms. Bordallo, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. King of 
   New York, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Grimm, Mr. McIntyre, Mr. Pierluisi, Ms. 
 Loretta Sanchez of California, Mr. Wolf, and Mr. Peterson) submitted 
 the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the 



  Honoring the Drug Enforcement Administration on the occasion of its 
                           40th anniversary.

Whereas the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was created by an Executive 
        order on July 1, 1973, and given the responsibility to coordinate all 
        activities of the Federal Government directly related to the enforcement 
        of the Nation's drug laws;
Whereas the men and women of DEA have served our Nation with courage, vision, 
        and determination that protects Americans from the scourge of drug 
        trafficking, drug abuse, and related violence;
Whereas DEA has refined the tactics and methods that targets the most dangerous 
        drug trafficking organizations in order to bring to justice criminals 
        over the last 40 years. This includes Leroy ``Nicky'' Barnes; key 
        members of the infamous Colombian Medellin, Norte Valle, and Cali 
        cartels; the FARC and AUC Colombian narcoterrorist organizations; Thai 
        warlord Khun Sa; key leaders of each of the seven most notorious Mexico-
        based cartels; Hezbollah affiliates Walid Makled Garcia and Ayman 
        Joumaa; Afghan terrorists Haji Baz Mohammad, Haji Bashir Noorzai, Haji 
        Juma Khan; and international arms dealers Monzer Al-Kassar and Viktor 
        Bout and hundreds of other criminals, narcoterrorists and drug 
Whereas throughout its 40-year history DEA has continually adapted to evolving 
        trends of drug trafficking organizations by aggressively targeting those 
        involved in the manufacturing, distribution and sale of drugs, including 
        marijuana, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, Ecstasy, and controlled 
        prescription drugs;
Whereas through its 223 domestic offices in 21 field divisions DEA continues to 
        strengthen and enhance existing relationships with Federal, State, and 
        local counterparts across the entire country to combat drug trafficking;
Whereas in the past decade alone DEA special agents have seized more than 21,000 
        kilograms of heroin; 825,000 kilograms of cocaine; four-and-a-half 
        million kilograms of marijuana; over 21,000 kilograms of 
        methamphetamine; more than 50 million dosage units of hallucinogens; and 
        made over 300,000 arrests;
Whereas in its 86 foreign offices located in 67 countries DEA has the largest 
        international presence of any Federal law enforcement agency;
Whereas its personnel continue to collaborate closely with international 
        partners around the world, including in such drug-producing countries as 
        Colombia, Mexico, and Afghanistan through the sharing of intelligence, 
        training, technology and other resources;
Whereas the results of this international collaboration in this past decade 
        alone have led to the disruption or dismantling of 216 priority target 
        drug trafficking organizations in Colombia, 20 in Afghanistan and 108 in 
Whereas through the creation of the Diversion Control Program in 1971 DEA now 
        registers and regulates over 1,400,000 registrants, while simultaneously 
        combating the continually evolving threat posed by the diversion of 
        controlled pharmaceuticals;
Whereas DEA continues to strike at drug traffickers financially denying them 
        $2.8 billion in 2012 and more than $22 billion over the past 7 years;
Whereas DEA special agents continue to work shoulder-to-shoulder with Federal, 
        State, and local law enforcement officials across the Nation in a 
        cooperative and collaborative effort to fight crime and put drug 
        traffickers behind bars;
Whereas throughout DEA's history its employees and members of the agency's task 
        forces have given their lives in the line of duty including: Emir 
        Benitez, Gerald Sawyer, Leslie S. Grosso, Nickolas Fragos, Mary M. 
        Keehan, Charles H. Mann, Anna Y. Mounger, Anna J. Pope, Martha D. 
        Skeels, Mary P. Sullivan, Larry D. Wallace, Ralph N. Shaw, James T. 
        Lunn, Octavio Gonzalez, Francis J. Miller, Robert C. Lightfoot, Thomas 
        J. Devine, Larry N. Carwell, Marcellus Ward, Enrique S. Camarena, James 
        A. Avant, Charles M. Bassing, Kevin L. Brosch, Susan M. Hoefler, William 
        Ramos, Raymond J. Stastny, Arthur L. Cash, Terry W. McNett, George M. 
        Montoya, Paul S. Seema, Everett E. Hatcher, Rickie C. Finley, Joseph T. 
        Aversa, Wallie Howard, Jr., Eugene T. McCarthy, Alan H. Winn, George D. 
        Althouse, Becky L. Dwojeski, Stephen J. Strehl, Richard E. Fass, Frank 
        Fernandez, Jr., Jay W. Seale, Meredith Thompson, Juan C. Vars, Frank S. 
        Wallace, Jr., Shelly D. Bland, Rona L. Chafey, Carrol June Fields, 
        Carrie A. Lenz, Kenneth G. McCullough, Shaun E. Curl, Larry Steilen, 
        Royce D. Tramel, Alice Faye Hall-Walton, Elton Lee Armstead, Terry 
        Loftus, Donald C. Ware, Jay Balchunas, Thomas J. Byrne, Jr., Samuel 
        Hicks, Forrest N. Leamon, Chad L. Michael, and Michael E. Weston;
Whereas many other DEA employees and task force officers have been wounded or 
        injured in the line of duty, including 91 who have received DEA's Purple 
        Heart Award; and
Whereas over 9,500 employees of DEA, including special agents, intelligence 
        analysts, diversion investigators, program analysts, forensic chemists, 
        attorneys, and administrative support, plus more than 2,000 task force 
        officers, and hundreds of vetted foreign drug law enforcement officers 
        are all working tirelessly to hunt down and bring to justice those who 
        seek to poison our citizens with dangerous narcotics: Now, therefore, be 
    Resolved, That the House of Representatives--
            (1) congratulates the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
        on the occasion of its 40th anniversary;
            (2) honors the heroic sacrifice of the agency's employees 
        who have given their lives or have been wounded or injured in 
        service of our Nation; and
            (3) gives heartfelt thanks to all the men and women of DEA 
        for their past and continued efforts to defend the American 
        people from the scourge of illegal drugs and terrorism.